Knockout blows...

With fine weather and the course in excellent condition all was set fair for a busy period of golf at Eastbourne Downs.

On Saturday the A team had the daunting task of hosting top Sussex team, Worthing, in the County Optimus Scratch Knock Out competition. The calm, sunny day helped negate home advantage against a visiting team whose 8 players had a combined handicap of +3. Whilst the Downs put out a strong team they were giving away 30 shots; so winning matches was never going to be easy. Two matches in the morning foursomes went to the 18th but both went Worthing’s way with birdies, ending any faint hopes of an unlikely upset. The Downs number one player, Shaun Harrison went out first in the afternoon singles and secured a half to make sure that a whitewash was avoided. Ben Dawson had a birdie putt for a half lip out on the 18th and it appeared that Shaun’s half point would be all that the Downs would score. That was until “Mr Reliable”, Nigel Smith came through with a 1 up win. There were other close and hard fought games which resulted in losses for Seb Dell, Will Fairbairn, Scott Simpson, Jake Nash & Phil Manser so giving Worthing a 101/2 - 11/2 victory.

The Exclusive Trophy Team travelled to Piltdown where they went down 31/2 - 11/2 , a creditable result, with David Watley & Rasoul Shahilow securing a very good 4 & 3 win and Barry Wooller & David Button gaining a half.

Both teams will now play in the Plate competitions.

On Sunday, in superb golfing conditions, both men and ladies played competitions against par. In the men’s Gildredge Manor trophy Graham Hatfield came out on top with +3. Jerome Farrow (+1) was second on countback from third placed Callum Dell and Nicholas Taylor, Ian Pagan, Kieran Reidy & Graham Mills, all on +1.

Ladies Golf

In the ladies’ Frank Wooler Cups identical scores of -3 saw Caroline Abbott win the Silver Division and Liz Street the Bronze Division.

Seniors Golf

Previously the Seniors played a Foursomes competition with the usual suspects, John Chappell & Ray Caille, victorious on a superb 46 points. Paul Shing & Lou Angella (43) were second with Tony White & Brian Powell (42) third.